How Do Catholic Schools Work?

An archdiocese is a region, made up of churches and schools, overseen by an archbishop of the Catholic Church. The Archdiocese of New Orleans has been around since 1793 and is the second oldest diocese in the United States. In 2009, the Pope assigned Bishop Gregory Michael Aymond as the Archbishop of New Orleans.

There are eight parishes within the oversight of the Archdiocese of New Orleans. They include:

  • Jefferson
  • Orleans
  • Plaquemines
  • St. Bernard
  • St. Charles
  • St. John the Baptist
  • St. Tammany
  • Washington


There are four types of Catholic schools. Schools can be under the immediate direction of the Archdiocese of New Orleans, parish schools, religious order schools, or sponsored schools. 

Each Catholic school differs in terms of tuition, uniforms, and academic curriculum. 

As of the 2015-16 school year, all elementary schools within the Catholic system are required to span from grades PreK-7th and all high schools must span from 8th -12th grade. Schools that have to add or remove more than one grade level to be in compliance with the new rule have the option to adjust their grade levels year-by-year. 

Interested in learning more about why families choose Catholic schools? Check out the Archdiocese’s answer

Next step: Find a school near you.